top of page
Search
  • Alan H.

More on the setback, and some purchases

As noted in the last update, which I made an hour ago after writing nothing in here since March, Alpha got ~clocked~ by someone in the storage yard. They clearly hit the end of her mast, which was down on deck level, with a window of their own boat, which they were bringing into the yard. Here's what happened to the spreader.



Not good! So since I now have to replace one spreader, I just replaced both of them. They're set up a bit differently from the originals. I've epoxied 2-inch long aluminum plugs in the ends of the tubing with a product named "JB Weld". It's a 50/50 mix, two part epoxy infused with powdered steel. It's outrageously strong. The ends will be drilled for an aluminum pin and then I'll re-use the stainless retainer fittings from the original spreaders to retain the rigging in the slot that I'll hacksaw into the ends.


New upper shrouds, care of Rogue Rigging in Berkeley! Thanks, Ryan! You'll be getting a forestay from me to replace really soon! https://business.facebook.com/Roguerigging/




Finally, I bought these Harken self-tailing winches quite a while ago for my other boat. However, through the generosity of my friend George, who replaced the cabintop winches on his Capo 30 with new ones, I have two one-size-larger, TWO-speed self-tailers for the other boat. Now these can go on the Piper! This will be a huge upgrade from the bronze Lewmars that are currently on the boat, especially considering that the starboard one is very loose and I suspect the pawls and springs have long gone missing!





51 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page